Bike Trip (shravanabelagola, halebid,belur,yagachi dam)

Its been such a long time that I had gone 4 a trip & I thank my frd (dsk) 4 gifting me th wonderfull book motorcycle diaries as Ia hav finished it couple of times I decided 2 follow che foot step & discover incredible IndiaI zeroed in hassan as I hav passed through this town may time during my stay in mangalore & only sharvanabelagola was remaining as I hav already seen jain basadi @ moodbidri & 1000 pillar temple @ karkalla I decided 2 do this trip in bike so got it serviced properly (it turned out bit costly) & downloaded as much info google can giv I had planned on a 4.00 A.M departure. By the time I put my bike on first gear and set the trip meter to 0, it was 4.10.as I headed north west towards Neelamangala to hit NH48. th road was lik village road Just after crossing Neelamangala, I was greeted with dense fog which reduced visibility to about ten meters. The sun was nowhere to be seen as suddenly the plains of Karnataka became more like some foggy hill station in North India. Iwas @ Kunigal. The sun had finally triumphed, dissipating the fog which had slowed down our progress. th drieving in NH 48 was senic

I had expected Shravanabelagola to be just this huge monolithic statue which would hardly take half an hour of our time. It turned out to be much much more. It is in fact a set of Jain temples set atop two hills

@ lord bahubali

@ lord bahubali

, Chandragiri and Vindyagiri. I climbed up the flight of 650 steps. I was gasping for breath at the end of it but the view from the top more than made up for it. The weather, needless to say, was lovely.

steps 2 th the lord almighty

steps 2 th the lord almighty

@ ur steps

@ ur steps

After spending a couple of hours there, I left for Halebid via Hassan (appox 89 km 4m sharvanabelagola). It was hot. All that walking on the rocks and climbing up the stairs, and that too barefoot, had left me a little tired. But the road can do wonders. The moment I started from Shravanabelagola, the wind hitting my face, everything was alright.

Riding on the very scenic NH48, with fields of paddy, sugarcane and other crops on both sides and the occasional coconut grove, I reached the relatively large town of Hassan in the afternoon. Halebid took another hour or so to reach as the road snaked through small hills and jungles. The 11th century Hoysaleshwara temple, the pinnacle of Hoysala architecture, was

halebid temple

halebid temple

spectacular in its detail. A treasure trove for anyone interested in Indian history, iconography, mythology or just the art of sculpture making, the Hoysaleshwara temple managed to amaze us and hold our attention for more than an hour. Be it the identification of a familiar sculpture of Brahma or one of the avatars, the intricacy of a piece of jewelry adorned by the human figures and figurines, the uniqueness of the hundreds of elephant sculptures that formed the lowermost panel of the temple (not one was completely similar to another!) or the mere thought of how it must have been a thousand years earlier, in its full glory and might, it was an unforgettable experience in any way you look at it. Astounding for its wealth of sculptural details. The walls of the temple are covered with an endless variety of gods and goddesses, animals, birds and dancing girls.This magnificent temple – guarded by a Nandi Bull This particular part of a conversation caught my attention as I heard a guide talking to a foreign tourist explaining the concept “The British taught us to preserve our monuments. They also taught us this language. And so we can earn a living now.I’m very thankfull 2 them

Chennakeshava Temple

Chennakeshava Temple

At around 3 o’ clock I headed for Belur, a 16 km ride from Halebid. Is located on the banks of the river Yagachi. It was once capital of the Hoysala empire, today made unforgettable for its exquisite temples. The Chennakeshava temple is one of the finest examples of Hoysala architecture. It took 103 years to complete this architectural marvel. The facade of the temple is filled with intricate sculptures and frescos, with no portion left blank. Elephants, episodes from the epics, sensuous dancers… They are all there – awe-inspiring in their intricate workmanship. Hand-lathe-turned filigreed pillars support the temple.

Then i headed 2wards yagachi dam Just less than 10 KMs from Belur while going towards Chikkamagalur comes a huge water body on the left side of the road. Yagachi dam (or reservoir) built across river Yagachi (one of the important tributaries of river Kaveri).is

yagachi dam

yagachi dam

relatively new to the list of reservoirs in India, which was dedicated to the nation in 2004. The main purposes of the dam are irrigation for thousand’s of acres of land in Hassan & Chikkamagalur district and source of drinking water for Belur & Chikkamagalur cities.And then, I saw the sunset. The second magic moment of the trip. Seeing the whole day roll by in front of my eyes from dawn till dusk is a rarity for me. Sitting in my dukan, I can hardly differentiate between day and night, let alone the periods of the day. From the first rays of the sun as I left Bangalore, to the foggy ride. From the heat and dust of the afternoon to the calm and cool of the twilight, this day had turned out to be very special it reminded me of my home town (hirakud)

& then its time 4 me 2 head back 2 th routine lif I left yagachi @ 6 on myway 2 nama bengaluru I had a stop over @ kamat yatri niwason NH48 2wards kunigal 4 th masala dosa& filtercoffee was gr8the ride was senic I had many stopover & clicked may pic I stoped @ a place wher they make jaggery I learned th process4m crushing 2 finished product & then th worst part of th journey due 2 early morning accident th headlight is not working properly & th driving in th highway is also dangerous I searched 4 a place 2 sleep 4 th nitezeroed in a hut next 2 a dhabba (relax dhabba ) th food was worst my room mate was a henit was cold so waked up @ 3 & left 4 home sweet home early morning th drive was pleasant I reached safely @ home @ 8 & left 4 th duakan

Categories: bike trip | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Bike Trip (shravanabelagola, halebid,belur,yagachi dam)

  1. good one πŸ™‚

    lovely presentation and photography

  2. Great pics. Just finished a month long bike trip myself that took us up through Chandigarh and on thru Simla. Other than a bad case of food poisioning it was the trip of a lifetime.

  3. Manas

    Hey….i also love 2 drive n visit places…ths is a nice trip u hd…i luvd d pics n d description u hv gvn here…hp 2 get 2 c atleast sum of d places…

  4. Swarna

    congrats on the acheivement..amazing pics and great presentation..wish u good luck

  5. asim choudhury

    I Love and respect your spirit πŸ™‚ dear brother…You are truly a liberal spirit

    Thank You
    Asim

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

