Bike trip to Chitradurga Fort, Chandravalli Caves & Vani Vilas Sagar Dam

Bike trip to Chitradurga Fort, Chandravalli Caves & Vani Vilas Sagar Dam

Route: Bangalore -> Tumkur -> Sira -> Hiryur -> Chitradurga.

Highway: NH 4

Total distance: 487 km

As unusual as it seems, a bang in my head, & I was awaken at 4 am. And as bolt would strike, I just picked my jacket & went for a short ride. Its 5 AM. In order to get rid of the numbness in my hand, I stopped near a check post 2 warm up a bit. After that I asked a fellow truck driver “Which place it is?” & then I realized that I have already reached Tumkur & then called up my friend Samba to check out any place worth visiting nearby. I noted down whatever he mumbled & headed to Chitradurga district which was just about 200 km from Bangalore. With the adventure spirit riding high on my head & the road inviting my soul, I just kick started my butt. The road is four laned & awesome. With the morning wind blazing my ear & the drive as smooth as silk, soon I reached the town of Chitradurga. As far as the eyes can see there were windmills. It’s great to know that few places in India have taken initiative in generating green energy. I headed toward the fort. It’s also known as Elu Sutthina Kote (which means fort with seven circumambulation) as it comprises a series of seven enclosure walls. Legends have it that Chitradurga featured in the epic Mahabharata, where a man-eating giant named Hidimbasura lived here. When the Pandavas were in this place in the course of their exile, Bhima fought Hidambasura with the huge boulders around as arsenal, and Hidambasura was killed in the fight. After trying nth no. of times to reach the top of the fort by the stairs that seems to lead to the top, every single time I was surprised to see all of them ending at a wall. Hats off to the architects of the fort. I was drop dead tired by the mid-afternoon. I rested for few moments in the shadow of the wall to catch some breath & called it a quit & a promise to the fort to that it will see me again & this time, I will conquer it. After having my lunch I headed towards the Chandravalli caves which are definitely worth visiting (especially for u couples). There is a nice lake and in some caves here, one can see carvings and other structures created since 3 B.C. when Buddhist monks settled here. After spending few hours I left towards vanivillas sagar dam. It’s situated on the highway on my way back home. After 1st toll gate, it’s a 12km straight highway until you reach a big arch on the right side. From there, the dam is around 20 km. The dam is built in the saracenic style and is considered an engineering marvel. Built by the Maharaja of Mysore Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV built across the river Vedavathi. There is a place standing on the steps one can hear echo so I just stood there & shouted D****  & Voila! I could hear it seven times. I saw the sun setting down & the place reminded me of my home town. Late evening, I returned home having a great feeling of a day worth spending in getting to see one of the lesser known treasures of Karnataka. Chitradurga is definitely a place worth visiting. 🙂  🙂 🙂

Chitradurga Fort

Chitradurga Fort

Fort

Fort

Chandavalli caves

Chandavalli caves

Vani Villas Sagara dam

Vani Villas Sagara dam

Echo Point @ Vani Villas Sagara Dam

Echo Point @ Vani Villas Sagara Dam

Vani Villas Sagar Dam

Vani Villas Sagar Dam

Album Link: http://picasaweb.google.com/samareshbiswal/ChitradurgaFort#

http://picasaweb.google.com/samareshbiswal/ChandavalliCaves#

http://picasaweb.google.com/samareshbiswal/VaniVillasSagaraDam#

Categories: bangalore, bike trip, Fort, golden quadrilateral, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Bike trip to Chitradurga Fort, Chandravalli Caves & Vani Vilas Sagar Dam

  1. Bulu Bhai

    Good trip. But why r u using bike for so long diatnce?

  2. animesh

    sir jee mast experience hai , maza aaya pad k …………………. nice pic tooooooo……….

  3. Sirji… enjoyin life with style & passion…!!! Now i notice tat you really need a good cam…!!! as these would be golden memories of your life…!!! no never miss out on takin good pics…!!!

  4. Biswajita

    Realy these are very nice place.Enjoy madi………….

  5. Our trip to this place was an immense learning experience i must say;
    2 riders , 500km trip 😀

    http://theloapers.blogspot.com/2011/08/37-chitradurga-vanivilas-sagar.html
    ^ our visit to this place.

    • samareshbiswal

      hi karthik its true rideing 2 chitradurga is a learning experience

  6. shorani

    i m really imppressed…………………but u have missed 2 more placess…….. adamalleshwar and jogi matti…………………………………..

    • samareshbiswal

      thnks for ur feedback i didnt know about thr place may be nxt time on tht stretch will check out tht place

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

