Manjarabad fort

Manjarabad fort

Backpacker: Samaresh Biswal

Trip Stats:

Total distance: 260 Km

Total Expense: 100 bus fare

No of days: 1

Highway: NH 48

States: Karnataka

Route: Mangalore – Sakleshpur

Album link: http://picasaweb.google.co.in/samareshbiswal/ManjarabadFort#

It’s been such a long time I haven’t been on a backpacking ride, so decided to check out the beautiful manjarabad fort situated in the small coffee estate town of shakelespur. Though I have crossed the town many times but never had a stopover. So packed my back & catch the Govt bus. I told the conductor to drop me near the fort. As I reached I asked the tea vendor the route towards the fort, he instructed me the path. As soon I reached the top of the fort it’s a WOW feeling it’s the most beautiful fort built by Tipu sultan. This fort is constructed 1792 AD .The fort being always covered by mist & commanding views of the landscape was named manjarabad by Tipu .On the return journey I had taken a lift on an overloaded iron ore truck, it was the thrilling roller coaster ride of my life.

Manjarabad Fort

Manjarabad fort

Manjarabad fort

Categories: backpacking, bangalore, Fort, mangalore | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Manjarabad fort

  1. Dude,
    Considering you travel so much, some times you could try going with a group. There are a lot of like minded backpackers and free spirited travelles in the world. You should google for such groups / clubs.
    You may have even more richer memories, pictures, stories, and learn from their experiences as well.Will send you some links for you to explore, if you want.

    Cheers!
    Vasu

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

