Philatelic Museum Bangalore

Philatelic Museum Bangalore

“All science is either Physics or stamp collecting.” – Ernest Rutherford
Location : 1st floor Bangalore GPO near Vidhana Soudha
Timing :10 AM – 16 pm
Monday – Saturday
closed on Sunday & holidays.
Entry Free 🙂

Album Link : https://picasaweb.google.com/117454660176366446537/PhilatelicMuseumBangalore?authuser=0&feat=directlink

Youtube Link : http://youtu.be/5GFT4q5yO9I

Firstly I would  thank fellow blogger Nisha ( http://www.lemonicks.com/Travel/ ) for introducing me to Postcrossing .I was in GPO to buy stamps for the postcard . I was surprised to see a board of philatelic museum ,staying over a decade in namma bengaluroo & had no idea about the hidden gem.as entry was free I went in to check out . it bought back my childhood memories & my stamp  collection 🙂

Bangalore GPO

Bangalore GPO

collect stamp collect knowledge

collect stamp collect knowledge

Stamp radio telescope ooty

Stamp radio telescope ooty

Philatelic Museum Bangalore

Philatelic Museum Bangalore

Philatelic Museum Bangalore

Philatelic Museum Bangalore

Categories: bangalore, bike trip, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Philatelic Museum Bangalore

  1. Thanks for the mention here. 🙂

    Even I didn’t know about this museum. So this is new for me, will try to go there on my next visit.
    The building also looks good.
    So how many stamps did you buy? Do they keep postcards as well?

    • samareshbiswal

      i have opened a account & deposited little money so when ever new stamp will come they will keep a set for me :). Sure Nisha jee will show u more hidden gems of namma city 🙂

      • Mohan

        How to open an account?

      • Samaresh Biswal

        hi Mohan, you just pay a small amount & fill your address if you want to receive the stamp Or collect it from GPO and its done.

  2. Very interesting! I would love to check this out when in Bangalore someday!

  3. I love museums, though have never visited a philatelic museum. I will visit this one the next time I am in Bangalore. Thanks for sharing.

    And I must also check if there is one in Mumbai as well.

    • samareshbiswal

      thanks for dropping by to my blog 🙂 definitely do make a point to visit the museum

  4. Mickey

    As always, an interesting find. Where’s your personal collection? Would love to see it some day.

    • samareshbiswal

      thanks mickey 🙂 my stamp diary collection is in my home town 🙂

  5. Wow, Once I really used to be curious about these stamps and used to collect them but all vanished with the childhood. Feeling nice to see them again.. Thanks for sharing!!

    • samareshbiswal

      Dheeraj bhai same here also now i have open a philatelic account to revive my stamp collection 🙂

  6. Nikhil

    Hi Sameer,

    You In bangalore. I stay in bangalore and i am an avid collector of indian stamps do you know any phila clubs where people can meet and discuss. I have opened an account too now adays too many stamps being released collecting is becoming trickier. By the way which stamps do you collect i collect indian from preindependence to present. Also do you know any phila dealers in bangalore i am missing some rare stamps from my collection which i am trying to get

    Bye
    NikK

    • samareshbiswal

      Hi Nikhil,
      thanks for ur feedback , I have few stamps . will check out about dealers . as u have opened account so they will keep all the new released stamps u just have to visit in few months & collect it . Yes i am based in namma bangalore 🙂

  7. aloysious kanakaratnaraj

    Thanks for this web page.I nevwr knew about this museum.I will visit on Wednesday.

  8. Interesting! Didn’t know there was a philately museum at GPO in Blr. Will visit during a weekend. 🙂

  9. hi Samareshbiswal thanks for capturing Philatelic Museum Bangalore at GPO for your kind information the last image ” the cycling” is the collection of KPS Member displayed during OLYMPHILEX INDIA 2012, We Karnataka philately society meets at GPO Philatelic Museum hall every first Sunday of every month at 11 am and discuss about various topic’s on philately and exchange stamps if any one have interest can come on join us during the meeting

  10. Priya

    Hi! Am happy to see that there is a museum for stamps! Will definitely visit next time I am back home in Bangalore. I want to know if there are any stamp collection evaluators in Bangalore as I would like to use their services. Thanks.

    • samareshbiswal

      hi, there is a meetup happening in museum u will find someone who can evaluate ur collection

    • We Karnataka philately society meets at GPO Philatelic Museum hall every first Sunday of every month at 11 am and discuss about various topic’s on philately and exchange stamps if any one have interest can come on join us during the meeting

  11. Anto

    Hi Samaresh – could you please share the Museum location & address . would like to have a visit .

    • Samaresh Biswal

      Hi Anto, The museum is situated above GPO on Rajbhavan Road 🙂

  12. radha

    Hi samaresh , can we take school children to the museum ?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

